Monthly music, July 2017

First month in army, differences are…. noticeable.

Total plays

860 plays – only 27 a day which is less than half of usual. Haven’t been able to listen to nearly as much music in the army as I’d like but that’s to be assumed. I’m still looking for a good balance for listening to music I really like and trying to discover new music now that I have less time for it.

Artists

398 different artists, top five being:

1. Sabaton – 32 plays

2. Haloo Helsinki – 28 plays

3. InFlames – 27 plays

3. Jeff Williams -27 plays

5. Arctic Monkeys – 21 plays
Saw the top two live at the end of June and looks like it carried them to the top. Glad to see a Finnish artist there, I’ve been getting more and more into Haloo Helsinki and I’m thinking I have to go to just their concert in the future.

Songs

646 different ones, no big numbers this month since I only listened to 860 songs total, either way here’s top five.

1. Danny Schmidt – This too shall pass, 9 plays. Found this thanks to the podcast welcome to Night Vale, which for the record is an amazing podcast, and this song deserves to be heard so many times more.

2. The boss hoss – Last day (do or die), 7 plays. The chorus of this song, man is it good. The song gets better the further into it you get.

3. Sabaton – Swedish pagans, 6 plays. The hypest non-Finland-related song from the concert. An amazing live song with thousands of fans chanting, would recommend checking a live version on youtube.

4. Haloo Helsinki – Vapaus käteen jää, 5 plays. On top of this being a phenomenal song I’ve listened to this with some irony. The song is about how even when you lose everything and shit’s hit the fan, you’ll always have your freedom to do what you want. And well I think I’ve already mentioned I haven’t been able to listen to as much music as I’d like on top of other things I can’t do while in the army so the song kind of doesn’t apply there.
4. Sabaton – White death, 5 plays. Probably the loudest song at the concert. A song about the legendary Simo Häyhä will make a Finnish crowd go crazy 100% of the time. This is just an amazing power metal song so as always, highly recommended.

Other stuff

I also discovered these gems which didn’t get mentioned earlier and deserve recognition. Ghost from the barrow by paddy and the rats and jump up, super star cover by Adriana Figueroa.

Leave a Reply

